Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Larry A. Martin, Chairman Rep. Bruce W. Bannister, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Murrell Smith Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Kristian C. Bell Michael Hitchcock Susan Taylor Wall Robert M. Wilcox



Elizabeth H. Brogdon, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

June 27, 2016

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Donald W. Beatty, Justice of the Supreme Court, Seat 5, upon his election to the position of Chief Justice, beginning January 1, 2017. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires on July 31, 2020.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Paul E. Short, Jr., Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2017.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable H. Bruce Williams, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2017.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable James E. Lockemy, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 9, upon his election to the Court of Appeals, Chief Judge, Seat 5. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires on June 30, 2022.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable W. Jeffrey Young, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2016. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires on June 30, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Roger L. Couch, Judge of the Circuit Court, Seventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before February 10, 2017. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires on June 30, 2018.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable John M. Rucker, Judge of the Family Court, Eighth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before December

31, 2016. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2022.

The newly created seat for Judge of the Family Court, At-Large, Seat 7. The term will be from July 1, 2017, until June 30, 2023.

The newly created seat for Judge of the Family Court, At-Large, Seat 8. The term will be from July 1, 2017, until June 30, 2023.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable John D. McLeod, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before June 30, 2017, which is the end of the term for that office. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2022.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Elizabeth Herlong Brogdon, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 ElizabethBrogdon@scsenate.gov (803) 212-6629

or

Lindi Legare, JMSC Administrative Assistant at (803) 212-6623 or LindiLegare@scsenate.gov.

The Commission will not accept applications after 12:00 noon on Monday, August 1, 2016.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the Commission website at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.